Weekly Photo Challenge: Dreamy

My wife and I have been dreaming of going to Paris.  She has been.  I have not.  So, last week we took a visit to The Art Institute here in Chicago, and in the Impressionism Wing, I found myself lost in the idea.

Here are some of the works that inspired me:

On the Bank of the Seine - Claude Monet

On the Bank of the Seine – Claude Monet

Paris Street: Rainy Day  -  Gustave Caillebotte

Paris Street: Rainy Day – Gustave Caillebotte

A Sunday Afternoon on the Island of La Grande Jatte  -  Georges Seurat

A Sunday Afternoon on the Island of La Grande Jatte – Georges Seurat

All of the pictures were taken with my iPhone.  New World technology to capture an old world dream.

.

.

.

For more photos of Dreamy, please visit:

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_photo_challenge/dreamy/

 

11 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Dreamy

  1. NIce. I especially like the Georges Seurat painting. I’ve seen it many times and know it well, but I didn’t know the name of the artist.

  2. Pingback: Photo Challenge: Dreamy | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  3. I hope you make it to Paris one day but in the meantime, what fun to enjoy the Impressionists. Are you from the Chicago area? We live in Naperville.

    janet

  4. Gorgeous! I love the first one 🙂 bye. K.

  5. You know what they say…Paris is always a good idea. 🙂 Hope you get to go soon!

  6. Pingback: 10-14-14 Weekly Photo Challenge: Dreamy – ICP Borough Walk Edition | The Quotidian Hudson

  7. Love those paintings. I would be inspired too.

  8. Three impressionist pieces that I have scrutinized many times in my life. You’re right, those artists did a superb job of capturing Paris in that era. I think that’s the idea of Paris that inspires my wife to also want to go there.

    She want to especially see the Eiffel Tower. Not go in it, just touch it from ground level.

    My impression of Paris is more contemporary. It’s a manifestation of all the modern photos and espionage films that I’ve seen. Again, not likely the real deal just an impression.

    We may get there yet some day but until then, we’ll continue to absorb the illustrated ideas of it.

Leave a Reply

